top of page
  • Writer's pictureHaxann Evers

Crochet Today! Among Us Toys

I haven’t played the game myself, but I have seen many people obsessed with it, including my siblings. And as the characters are simple shapes, small, and one color, they make perfect quick gifts for the holidays!


I found several pattern for these toys, and used two. Here they are.


Among Us Crochet Pattern: easycrochet.com



I liked this pattern for it’s one shape construction. While the way they connect the legs was a little confusing, they got you covered with a video tutorial to help you! It’s top down, meaning you start with the head, work to the body, make a ‘bridge’ for the legs, and then separate to work the legs. Minimal sewing for the face and back pack involved.


[Image: Blue crocheted Crewman]


Among Us Amigurumi: cafedelcraft.com



I LOVE the way this pattern was written. It’s a chart system, and it’s very easy to just glance at the pattern and know what to do. That being said, this pattern is a lot of little parts. The legs, backpack, body, and face are all made separately. They also have you made a crochet chain and sew that around the face for that sharp ‘animation’ look. I love this pattern, but as I am not the best with sewing tiny pieces together, I don't think my finished product does the pattern justice.

[Image: Yellow crocheted Crewman]



His face is small because the black crocheted chain makes it bigger, but when I saw the way I mutilated the legs, I figured I better back up before I do more damage.

I like the concept of making small pieces and sewing them together because you can just crochet, crochet, crochet, until you have time to think and sew and voila! You’re done! But my skill at sewing doesn’t want to corporate (or my patience. Sometimes I wonder which is to blame).


I still recommend this pattern. It was very clearly written and chances are you are a better sewist than me (most people are). Easy to follow and fun to make!


Now, after doing both these patterns, I reflected on the fact how much I liked making the first one, but didn't like the leg portion. And the second one, I didn’t like the sewing bits. So, I decided to just take what I liked about both patterns and make a third one without any instruction (free form it, if you will).


-I used the leg pattern from the second pattern and made two, and then joined them together for the body, made the body, and finished it off


-I used the backpack and face from the first pattern and shortened it a bit (my body was a little smaller, so I thought it was best to not make it as long) and now I have….

RED CREWMAN!

[Image: Red Crocheted Crewman]


And he’s perfect! No fiddly bits! Couldn’t be happier!


Be sure to check out those patterns! They’re both free and will fit your needs depending on how you like to crochet.


Let me know on Instagram if you are going to make an Among Us toy. Maybe someone in your life needs one for a holiday gift? Maybe YOU need one for a holiday gift? Let me know!


Happy Crafting!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page