top of page
  • Writer's pictureHaxann Evers

Wip Wednesday 2/17/21

I am once again in my happy spot when it comes to my projects on the needles. A sweater, a sock, and a small project. I am so excited about these projects!


1: Sweater

I had been dreaming of a simple, classic, black sweater for a long time, since before Christmas. I went off the idea when I realized that to have a pure black sweater I would have to knit with pure black yarn, and given past exerpience with dark yarn I didn't think it would be worth it to my poor eyes. Then, I watched an episode of the Knit Witch Podcast, saw Gabi, the wonderful host, had a black flax, and the desire to knit one came back and I was off.


I am happy to report that it has not been as hard on the eyes as I feared. I attribute this to good lighting and being a very simple pattern that I really don't have to look at my work at all.


Pattern: Flax by Tin Can Knits (Free On Ravelry)


Needles: US 9 (5.5mm)


Yarn: I Love This Yarn in the Black color way


Modifications: I made the neckline wider because I can't stand necklines being too high up on my neck. To make the neckline wider, I started with 104sts as opposed to the 86 it called for for the size medium. I also hacked the underarm to ensure my sleeve stitches would look neat when I knit them.


2: Sock

Haven't case on yet, but it is HIGH on my list of to-dos. This pair of socks will be a shorty pair, and I am torn about doing cuffs in the contrasting color. I think I won't, but my dilemma is then I risk my striping sequence being offset a bit. I don't know, it think I can make it work.


Pattern: Short Cut Heel Sock Recipe by Haxann Evers ($4.00 on Ravelry)


Needles: US 2 (2.75mm)


Yarn: Knit Picks Felici in the Punch Bug Colorway; contrasting mini is Yarn Bee (75% acrylic, 25% nylon).

3: Small Project


This round o' wips' small project is the hat I mentioned I was working on on Monday.

I love it so much!


Pattern: Cable 4 Beanie, by Haxann Evers (release date coming soon!)


Yarn: Yarn Bee DK soft and Sleek held double


needles: US 7(4.5mm)


And thats all my wips! What are you working on this week?

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page